2023 Juror Council

The AWMA Juror Council reflects a wide cross section of artists and industry professionals each of whom provide significant expertise in their respective areas and a broad perspective and overview to the Juror process.

AWMA Juror Chair

Dr Diana Tolmie

Diana is Senior Lecturer of Professional Practice at the Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University and a D’Addario International Artist. She is also a freelance woodwind specialist in a multitude of genres performing both nationally and internationally.

Her international artistic practice has been supported by a Churchill Fellowship and Queen Elizabeth Trust Scholarship. Passionately teaching performance, pedagogy, musicians ‘health’ and vocational preparation, Diana’s excellence has been awarded an AEL Group Learning & Teaching Citation (2014), Highly Commended in the ‘Employability within the Curriculum’ category of the Griffith University Awards for Excellence in Teaching (2016) and a University Australian Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning (2018).

Diana continues to contribute to the Australian music industry via her post-PhD research into musicians ‘lives’ and the release of solo and chamber music recordings. She has been an AWMA Juror Council member for the past 2 years.

Juror Committee

Inaugural Executive Leader Game Changer

Alex Shehadie
An expert on gender equality, diversity and inclusion and creating psychologically safe work places.


Darren Saunders
Scientist, organisation culture specialist, communicator, gender equality advocate


Chiou See Anderson
Successful business leader and advocate, member of the Women’s Economic Equality Taskforce and President of the National Council of Women of Australia.


Violet Roumeliotis AM
A social entrepreneur who champions the strengths of diverse communities.


Jon Whittle
An expert in computer science and artificial intelligence, leader in addressing gender diversity in the tech sector and Director of CSIRO’s Data61.


Juror Council

Emily Allen
Engagement & Impact Coordinator, ANU School of Music (ACT)

Cheryl Barker AO
Artistic Director PO Young Artists Program
International Opera Singer
Voice Teacher (NSW)

Dr Nicole Canham
Lecturer in Music, Monash University (VIC)

Dr Leigh Carriage
Senior Lecturer, Southern Cross University (NSW)

Monica Curro
Violinist, Artistic Director (VIC)

Dr Louise Denson
Former and adjunct Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University Academic (QLD), pianist/composer

Kerry Digby*
Screen Industry Development Manager, Screen Territory (NT)

Tania Doko
Artist/Songwriter (NSW)

Sophie Edwards
Artist/Producer (ACT)

Mark Ferguson
Head of Jazz – Elder Conservatorium (SA), Composer/Arranger (SA)

Dr Narelle Gee
Former Head Programmer RAGE, QUT Academic (QLD), Author (QLD)

Angie Hart
Singer/songwriter, solo artist and founding member of ARIA Award winning indie-pop band, Frente (VIC)

Sahara Herald
Current: Tour Director, Frontier Touring
Former: National Event Co-ordinator, Big Day Out (NSW)

Caleb James
Senior Lecturer, Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University Academic

Toni Janke*
Managing Director/Owner, Toni Janke Productions (QLD)

Lucy Joseph
Projects and Engagement Manager, Live Music Office (NSW)

Georgia Kennedy
Strategic Relationships and Development Manager, West Australian Music (WA)

Lucy Knox
Director and Producer, SWAG Film (VIC)

Genevieve Lacey
Musician and arts advocate (VIC)
Laura Luna-Zamora
Arts and Culture Manager, Settlement Services International Limited (SSI) (NSW)

Cybele Malinowski
Photographer and Director (NSW)

Erin Nolan
Head of Partnerships, Oztix (QLD)

Dr Jadey O’Regan
Lecturer in Contemporary Music (Sydney Conservatorium of Music, University of Sydney) (NSW)

Casey O’Shaughnessy
Senior Booking Agent (NSW)

Dr Vincent Perry
Lecturer in Contemporary Music (Charles Darwin University) (NSW)

Poppy Reid
Editor in chief of The Brag Media, Rolling Stone, Australia and New Zealand, and Variety Australia and New Zealand (NSW)

Dr Diana Tolmie
QLD Conservatorium (QLD)

Emily Tulloch
CEO & Artistic Director, Nexus Arts. Independent musician (SA)

Phaedra Watts*
Festival Director – Nannup Music Festival (WA)

Emily-Rose Wills
Program Manager, Music at Mona / Mona Foma (TAS)

Dr John Willsteed
QUT Academic (QLD)

* First Nations Jurors